Whatever I give, I get back a thousandfold.

A sketch gifted to me by Luez, El Salvadorian art professor, visiting and teaching in Guatemala City, September 2012

One morning I decided to meditate on offering objects of beauty to people and to the Earth. The very next day, I was sitting in a restaurant and noticed a man across from me who was making a pencil sketch on his place mat. He kept looking over at me, and I realized that he was using me as a model for his sketch. After I finished my meal, I walked over to the man, and he introduced himself as a visiting art professor from El Salvador. I commented on how beautiful his sketch turned out. It was the face of a young woman who resembled me in some ways, but many of her facial features looked much different from mine.

He then offered to give me the sketch as a gift, and at first I was hesitant to accept. It seemed like such a generous gift, considering that it took him at least an hour to complete the drawing. But I decided that not accepting it might offend him, so I smiled and accepted his gift with gratitude. I hung the sketch near my altar, and every time I see it, I am reminded that the intelligent universe always reciprocates.

Whatever I give, I get back a thousandfold. It is the law of the universe. Whatever I give to others, the universe always gives back to me.

2 thoughts on “Whatever I give, I get back a thousandfold.

  1. this is such a sweet story. it kind of embodies the sentiment of “the kindness of strangers”. he perhaps just found you really inspiring as a muse for his drawing and thought then that you had creative ownership over it – maybe on some level the universe influence him to draw that for you, rather than merely drawing. that’s lovely, now you a token of his artistry that you saw come into being 🙂

Leave a Reply

